• 11258 Citations
  • 54 h-Index
20002020

Research output per year

If you made any changes in Pure these will be visible here soon.

Research Output

Filter
Review article
2020

Grid-connected renewable energy sources: Review of the recent integration requirements and control methods

Al-Shetwi, A. Q., Hannan, M. A., Jern, K. P., Mansur, M. & Mahlia, T. M. I., 20 Apr 2020, In : Journal of Cleaner Production. 253, 119831.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

2 Citations (Scopus)

Patent landscape review on biodiesel production: Technology updates

Mahlia, T. M. I., Syazmi, Z. A. H. S., Mofijur, M., Abas, A. E. P., Bilad, M. R., Ong, H. C. & Silitonga, A. S., Feb 2020, In : Renewable and Sustainable Energy Reviews. 118, 109526.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

31 Citations (Scopus)

Prospect of using rice straw for power generation: a review

Logeswaran, J., Shamsuddin, A. H., Silitonga, A. S. & Mahlia, T. M. I., 01 Jul 2020, In : Environmental Science and Pollution Research. 27, 21, p. 25956-25969 14 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

State of art review on conventional and advanced pyrolysis of macroalgae and microalgae for biochar, bio-oil and bio-syngas production

Lee, X. J., Ong, H. C., Gan, Y. Y., Chen, W. H. & Mahlia, T. M. I., 15 Apr 2020, In : Energy Conversion and Management. 210, 112707.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

3 Citations (Scopus)

State of the Art of Catalysts for Biodiesel Production

Rizwanul Fattah, I. M., Ong, H. C., Mahlia, T. M. I., Mofijur, M., Silitonga, A. S., Rahman, S. M. A. & Ahmad, A., 19 Jun 2020, In : Frontiers in Energy Research. 8, 101.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

Open Access
2019

Latest development in microalgae-biofuel production with nano-additives

Hossain, N., Mahlia, T. M. I. & Saidur, R., 20 May 2019, In : Biotechnology for Biofuels. 12, 1, 125.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

Open Access
9 Citations (Scopus)

Membrane surface patterning as a fouling mitigation strategy in liquid filtration: A review

Barambu, N. U., Bilad, M. R., Wibisono, Y., Jaafar, J., Mahlia, T. M. I. & Khan, A. L., 01 Oct 2019, In : Polymers. 11, 10, 1687.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

Open Access
4 Citations (Scopus)

Palm oil and its wastes as bioenergy sources: a comprehensive review

Mahlia, T. M. I., Ismail, N., Hossain, N., Silitonga, A. S. & Shamsuddin, A. H., 01 Jan 2019, In : Environmental Science and Pollution Research.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

10 Citations (Scopus)

Phase change materials (PCM) for solar energy usages and storage: An overview

Mofijur, M., Mahlia, T. M. I., Silitonga, A. S., Ong, H. C., Silakhori, M., Hasan, M. H., Putra, N. & Ashrafur Rahman, S. M., 17 Aug 2019, In : Energies. 12, 16, en12163167.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

Open Access
19 Citations (Scopus)

Potential of rice industry biomass as a renewable energy source

Mofijur, M., Mahlia, T. M. I., Logeswaran, J., Anwar, M., Silitonga, A. S., Rahman, S. M. A. & Shamsuddin, A. H., 28 Oct 2019, In : Energies. 12, 21, 4116.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

Open Access

Progress in physicochemical parameters of microalgae cultivation for biofuel production

Hossain, N. & Mahlia, T. M. I., 18 Aug 2019, In : Critical Reviews in Biotechnology. 39, 6, p. 835-859 25 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

6 Citations (Scopus)

Sustainability of direct biodiesel synthesis from microalgae biomass: A critical review

Goh, B. H. H., Ong, H. C., Cheah, M. Y., Chen, W. H., Yu, K. L. & Mahlia, T. M. I., Jun 2019, In : Renewable and Sustainable Energy Reviews. 107, p. 59-74 16 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

54 Citations (Scopus)
2018

Advances in CO2 utilization technology: A patent landscape review

Norhasyima, R. S. & Mahlia, T. M. I., Jul 2018, In : Journal of CO2 Utilization. 26, p. 323-335 13 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

61 Citations (Scopus)

An overview of recent developments in biomass pyrolysis technologies

Uddin, M. N., Techato, K., Taweekun, J., Rahman, M. M., Rasul, M. G., Mahlia, T. M. I. & Ashrafur, S. M., Nov 2018, In : Energies. 11, 11, 3115.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

47 Citations (Scopus)

A review on the engine performance and exhaust emission characteristics of diesel engines fueled with biodiesel blends

Damanik, N., Ong, H. C., Tong, C. W., Mahlia, T. M. I. & Silitonga, A. S., 01 Jun 2018, In : Environmental Science and Pollution Research. 25, 16, p. 15307-15325 19 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

54 Citations (Scopus)

Potential thermochemical conversion of bioenergy from Acacia species in Brunei Darussalam: A review

Ahmed, A., Abu Bakar, M. S., Azad, A. K., Sukri, R. S. & Mahlia, T. M. I., Feb 2018, In : Renewable and Sustainable Energy Reviews. 82, p. 3060-3076 17 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

21 Citations (Scopus)
2017

A review on insulation materials for energy conservation in buildings

Aditya, L., Mahlia, T. M. I., Rismanchi, B., Ng, H. M., Hasan, M. H., Metselaar, H. S. C., Muraza, O. & Aditiya, H. B., 01 Jan 2017, In : Renewable and Sustainable Energy Reviews. 73, p. 1352-1365 14 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

155 Citations (Scopus)

Impact of infrastructural policies to reduce travel time expenditure of car users with significant reductions in energy consumption

Shekarchian, M., Moghavvemi, M., Zarifi, F., Moghavvemi, S., Motasemi, F. & Mahlia, T. M. I., 01 Jan 2017, In : Renewable and Sustainable Energy Reviews. 77, p. 327-335 9 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

7 Citations (Scopus)
2016

Potential of geothermal energy for electricity generation in Indonesia: A review

Nasruddin, Idrus Alhamid, M., Daud, Y., Surachman, A., Sugiyono, A., Aditya, H. B. & Mahlia, T. M. I., 01 Jan 2016, In : Renewable and Sustainable Energy Reviews. 53, p. 733-740 8 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

75 Citations (Scopus)

Second generation bioethanol potential from selected Malaysia's biodiversity biomasses: A review

Aditiya, H. B., Chong, W. T., Mahlia, T. M. I., Sebayang, A. H., Berawi, M. A. & Nur, H., 01 Jan 2016, In : Waste Management. 47, p. 46-61 16 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

69 Citations (Scopus)

Second generation bioethanol production: A critical review

Aditiya, H. B., Mahlia, T. M. I., Chong, W. T., Nur, H. & Sebayang, A. H., 01 Dec 2016, In : Renewable and Sustainable Energy Reviews. 66, p. 631-653 23 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

193 Citations (Scopus)
2015

Effective utilization of excess energy in standalone hybrid renewable energy systems for improving comfort ability and reducing cost of energy: A review and analysis

Ismail, M. S., Moghavvemi, M., Mahlia, T. M. I., Muttaqi, K. M. & Moghavvemi, S., Feb 2015, In : Renewable and Sustainable Energy Reviews. 42, p. 726-734 9 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

42 Citations (Scopus)
2014

A review of available methods and development on energy storage; Technology update

Mahlia, T. M. I., Saktisahdan, T. J., Jannifar, A., Hasan, M. H. & Matseelar, H. S. C., May 2014, In : Renewable and Sustainable Energy Reviews. 33, p. 532-545 14 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

325 Citations (Scopus)

Potential energy savings by radiative cooling system for a building in tropical climate

Hanif, M., Mahlia, T. M. I., Zare, A., Saksahdan, T. J. & Metselaar, H. S. C., 01 Apr 2014, In : Renewable and Sustainable Energy Reviews. 32, p. 642-650 9 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

44 Citations (Scopus)
2013

A global comparative review of biodiesel production from jatropha curcas using different homogeneous acid and alkaline catalysts: Study of physical and chemical properties

Silitonga, A. S., Masjuki, H. H., Mahlia, T. M. I., Ong, H. C., Atabani, A. E. & Chong, W. T., 06 May 2013, In : Renewable and Sustainable Energy Reviews. 24, p. 514-533 20 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

47 Citations (Scopus)

Curbing global warming with phase change materials for energy storage

Anisur, M. R., Mahfuz, M. H., Kibria, M. A., Saidur, R., Metselaar, I. H. S. C. & Mahlia, T. M. I., 01 Jan 2013, In : Renewable and Sustainable Energy Reviews. 18, p. 23-30 8 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

87 Citations (Scopus)

Current utilization of microturbines as a part of a hybrid system in distributed generation technology

Ismail, M. S., Moghavvemi, M. & Mahlia, T. M. I., 01 Jan 2013, In : Renewable and Sustainable Energy Reviews. 21, p. 142-152 11 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

36 Citations (Scopus)
16 Citations (Scopus)
11 Citations (Scopus)

Non-edible vegetable oils: A critical evaluation of oil extraction, fatty acid compositions, biodiesel production, characteristics, engine performance and emissions production

Atabani, A. E., Silitonga, A. S., Ong, H. C., Mahlia, T. M. I., Masjuki, H. H., Badruddin, I. A. & Fayaz, H., 01 Jan 2013, In : Renewable and Sustainable Energy Reviews. 18, p. 211-245 35 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

593 Citations (Scopus)

Overview properties of biodiesel diesel blends from edible and non-edible feedstock

Silitonga, A. S., Masjuki, H. H., Mahlia, T. M. I., Ong, H. C., Chong, W. T. & Boosroh, M. H., 25 Mar 2013, In : Renewable and Sustainable Energy Reviews. 22, p. 346-360 15 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

149 Citations (Scopus)
2012

A comprehensive review on biodiesel as an alternative energy resource and its characteristics

Atabani, A. E., Silitonga, A. S., Badruddin, I. A., Mahlia, T. M. I., Masjuki, H. H. & Mekhilef, S., 01 May 2012, In : Renewable and Sustainable Energy Reviews. 16, 4, p. 2070-2093 24 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

869 Citations (Scopus)

A review on electricity generation based on biomass residue in Malaysia

Shafie, S. M., Mahlia, T. M. I., Masjuki, H. H. & Ahmad-Yazid, A., 01 Oct 2012, In : Renewable and Sustainable Energy Reviews. 16, 8, p. 5879-5889 11 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

117 Citations (Scopus)

A review on energy pattern and policy for transportation sector in Malaysia

Ong, H. C., Mahlia, T. M. I. & Masjuki, H. H., 01 Jan 2012, In : Renewable and Sustainable Energy Reviews. 16, 1, p. 532-542 11 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

125 Citations (Scopus)

A review on energy scenario and sustainable energy in Indonesia

Hasan, M. H., Mahlia, T. M. I. & Nur, H., 01 May 2012, In : Renewable and Sustainable Energy Reviews. 16, 4, p. 2316-2328 13 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

134 Citations (Scopus)

A review on fuel economy test procedure for automobiles: Implementation possibilities in Malaysia and lessons for other countries

Mahlia, T. M. I., Tohno, S. & Tezuka, T., 01 Aug 2012, In : Renewable and Sustainable Energy Reviews. 16, 6, p. 4029-4046 18 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

12 Citations (Scopus)

A review on the pattern of electricity generation and emission in Indonesia from 1987 to 2009

Hasan, M. H., Muzammil, W. K., Mahlia, T. M. I., Jannifar, A. & Hasanuddin, I., 01 Jun 2012, In : Renewable and Sustainable Energy Reviews. 16, 5, p. 3206-3219 14 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

24 Citations (Scopus)

Energy and fuel consumption forecast by retrofitting absorption cooling in Malaysia from 2012 to 2025

Shekarchian, M., Moghavvemi, M., Motasemi, F., Zarifi, F. & Mahlia, T. M. I., 01 Oct 2012, In : Renewable and Sustainable Energy Reviews. 16, 8, p. 6128-6141 14 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

10 Citations (Scopus)

History and current status of the motor vehicle energy labeling and its implementation possibilities in Malaysia

Mahlia, T. M. I., Tohno, S. & Tezuka, T., 01 May 2012, In : Renewable and Sustainable Energy Reviews. 16, 4, p. 1828-1844 17 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

7 Citations (Scopus)

Review on fuel economy standard and label for vehicle in selected ASEAN countries

Silitonga, A. S., Atabani, A. E. & Mahlia, T. M. I., 01 Apr 2012, In : Renewable and Sustainable Energy Reviews. 16, 3, p. 1683-1695 13 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

25 Citations (Scopus)

The cost benefit analysis and potential emission reduction evaluation of applying wall insulation for buildings in Malaysia

Shekarchian, M., Moghavvemi, M., Rismanchi, B., Mahlia, T. M. I. & Olofsson, T., 01 Sep 2012, In : Renewable and Sustainable Energy Reviews. 16, 7, p. 4708-4718 11 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

22 Citations (Scopus)
2011

A review on emissions and mitigation strategies for road transport in Malaysia

Ong, H. C., Mahlia, T. M. I. & Masjuki, H. H., 01 Oct 2011, In : Renewable and Sustainable Energy Reviews. 15, 8, p. 3516-3522 7 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

58 Citations (Scopus)

A review on energy scenario and sustainable energy in Iran

Mohammadnejad, M., Ghazvini, M., Mahlia, T. M. I. & Andriyana, A., 01 Dec 2011, In : Renewable and Sustainable Energy Reviews. 15, 9, p. 4652-4658 7 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

49 Citations (Scopus)

A review on energy scenario and sustainable energy in Malaysia

Ong, H. C., Mahlia, T. M. I. & Masjuki, H. H., 01 Jan 2011, In : Renewable and Sustainable Energy Reviews. 15, 1, p. 639-647 9 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

241 Citations (Scopus)

A review on prospect of Jatropha curcas for biodiesel in Indonesia

Silitonga, A. S., Atabani, A. E., Mahlia, T. M. I., Masjuki, H. H., Badruddin, I. A. & Mekhilef, S., 01 Oct 2011, In : Renewable and Sustainable Energy Reviews. 15, 8, p. 3733-3756 24 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

197 Citations (Scopus)

A review on the pattern of electricity generation and emission in Malaysia from 1976 to 2008

Shekarchian, M., Moghavvemi, M., Mahlia, T. M. I. & Mazandarani, A., 01 Aug 2011, In : Renewable and Sustainable Energy Reviews. 15, 6, p. 2629-2642 14 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

52 Citations (Scopus)

Comparison of palm oil, Jatropha curcas and Calophyllum inophyllum for biodiesel: A review

Ong, H. C., Mahlia, T. M. I., Masjuki, H. H. & Norhasyima, R. S., 01 Oct 2011, In : Renewable and Sustainable Energy Reviews. 15, 8, p. 3501-3515 15 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

263 Citations (Scopus)

Current energy usage and sustainable energy in Malaysia: A review

Shafie, S. M., Mahlia, T. M. I., Masjuki, H. H. & Andriyana, A., 01 Dec 2011, In : Renewable and Sustainable Energy Reviews. 15, 9, p. 4370-4377 8 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

151 Citations (Scopus)
30 Citations (Scopus)

Energy savings and cost-benefit analysis of using compression and absorption chillers for air conditioners in Iran

Shekarchian, M., Moghavvemi, M., Motasemi, F. & Mahlia, T. M. I., 01 Jan 2011, In : Renewable and Sustainable Energy Reviews. 15, 4, p. 1950-1960 11 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

24 Citations (Scopus)